Cannes 2024 Names Film Festival Competition Jury

The Cannes Movie Competition has picked its full jury.

Oscar-nominated The Killers of the Flower Moon lead Lily Gladstone, French stars Eva Inexperienced and Omar Sy and Italian actor Pierfrancisco Favino are among the many A-listers who will be part of Barbie director Greta Gerwig, this yr’s jury president for the 77th Cannes Movie Competition, deciding on the winners, together with the perfect movie Palme d’Or, from the 2024 competitors lineup.

A trio of worldwide Oscar-nominated administrators: Lebanese filmmaker Nadine Labaki (Capernaum), Spain’s Juan Antonio Bayona (Society of the Snow) and Japanese director Kore-eda Hirokazu (Shoplifters), in addition to Turkish screenwriter and photographer Ebru Ceylan, co-writer of 2014 Palme d’Or winner Winter Sleep (with director husband Nuri Bilge Ceylan), full the five-women, four-man jury.

Among the many movies within the operating for this yr’s Palme d’Or are Francis Ford Coppola’s long-anticipated Megalopolis; Yorgos Lanthimos’ Poor Issues follow-up Sorts of Kindness; Chicken from Scottish director Andrea Arnold; David Cronenberg’s The Shrouds; and Ali Abbasi’s Donald Trump drama The Apprentice.

The 2024 Cannes Competition kicks off Could 14 with The Second Act, a surreal comedy from French director Quentin Dupieux (Smoking Causes Coughing) starring Léa Seydoux and Vincent Lindon. It’s going to premiere out of competitors, as will George Miller’s Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga, the newest within the Australian apocalypse franchise, starring Anya Taylor-Pleasure; and Kevin Costner’s Western epic Horizons: An American Saga – Chapter 1.

Cannes juries have a powerful observe document in choosing breakout award season contenders. Final yr’s Palme winner, Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall, went from success on the Croisette all the way in which to the Oscars, the place the French movie received the Academy Award for greatest unique screenplay and scored a greatest actress nom for breakout star Sandra Hüller.

The 77th Cannes Movie Competition runs Could 14-25.